SPORTS BRIEFS: Applekings win Hugh McClean Trophy

The Georgian Bay Applekings held on to win 7-5 over the Milverton 4 Wheel Drives Sunday afternoon in a Game 7 nailbiter at the Meaford and St. Vincent Community Centre to win the Hugh McLean Memorial Trophy as OHA Sr. A champions. It’s the first time since 1987 that the trophy has been awarded as the Ontario Elite Hockey League returned senior double-A and senior-A hockey to the Ontario Hockey Association this season. It was also the inaugural season for the Applekings, who went 13-18-0 on the year before winning all four games of a round-robin tournament semifinal featuring the bottom three OEHL teams, earning a berth into a best-of-seven single-A final. Neal Ross netted a hat-trick for the Applekings while Evan Buehler notched a pair. Jacob Robitaille and Mackenzie Fleming also scored for Georgian Bay in the contest. Read More

You May Also Like

More From Author